+++ Announcement +++ Reappointment of the German Council for Sustainable Development: the Office extends a warm welcome to all Council members, both newly appointed and returning, and looks forward to working together!

On 11 December 2019, Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel announced to the federal cabinet the regular reappointment of the members of the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE).

The following have been newly appointed to the Council:

  • Saori Dubourg (member of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF)
  • Cornelia Füllkrug-Weitzel (President of Bread for the World)
  • Gerda Hasselfeldt (President of the German Red Cross)
  • Jörg-Andreas Krüger (President of the Nature and Biodiversity Conservation Union)
  • Markus Lewe (Mayor of Münster; Vice President of the Association of German Cities)
  • Elisabeth Maier (Chairwoman of the German Federal Youth Council)
  • Hubertus Paetow (President of the German Agricultural Society)
  • Gunda Röstel (Managing Director of Stadtentwässerung Dresden AG)

The following have been reappointed to the Council:

  • Prof. Dr Alexander Bassen (Professor of Capital Markets and Management at the University of Hamburg)
  • Ulla Burchardt (former member of the German Bundestag)
  • Katherina Reiche (former Parliamentary State Secretary, Managing Director of the German Association of Local Utilities)
  • Dr Werner Schnappauf (former Minister of State Development and Environmental Affairs in the Government of Bavaria, former CEO of the Federation of the German Industries)
  • Prof. Dr Imme Scholz, (Acting Director of the German Development Institute)
  • Prof. Hubert Weiger (Honorary Chairman of BUND e.V.)
  • Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul (former member of the German Bundestag, former German Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development)

For further information, please see the Federal Government’s press release (in German). Further details will follow here soon.