Direkt zum Inhalt springen

"Sustainable development requires moving the fight against climate change to the center of social and economic transformation - not only in Germany but worldwide."

Jennifer Morgan, Member of the Council

Council Members

Marlehn Thieme

Chairwoman of the Council, Member of the Council of Lutheran Churches in Germany (EKD)

Olaf Tschimpke

Deputy Chairman of the Council, President of “NABU” (Nature and biodiversity conservation)

Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen

Full Professor of Capital Market and Management at the University of Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Gerhard de Haan

Professor of Futures and Education Studies at the Free University of Berlin

Vera Gäde-Butzlaff

CEO of the Berlin city cleaning services (Berliner Stadtreinigungsbetriebe, BSR)

Alois Glück

President of the Central Committee of German Catholics

Walter Hirche

Former parliamentary secretary for the Ministry of the Environment, Vice-Chairperson of the Governing Board of the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning in Hamburg, former minister in Lower Saxony and Brandenburg

Kathrin Menges

Executive Vice President Human Resources and Infrastructure Services, Chairwoman of the Sustainability Council at Henkel AG & Co. KGaA

Jennifer Morgan

Program Director, World Resources Institute, Washington

Alexander Müller

Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam (IASS)

Prof. Dr. Lucia A. Reisch

Professor at Copenhagen Business School, Department of Intercultural Communication and Management, visiting professor at Zeppelin University Friedrichshafen

Dr. Imme Scholz

Deputy Director, German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE)

Max Schön

Entrepreneur in Lübeck, president German Association for the Club of Rome, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

Professor and managing director of Institut für Nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung GmbH Stuttgart, former Lord Mayor of the City of Stuttgart

Michael Vassiliadis

Chairman of the industrial union of Mining, Chemical and Energy (IG BCE)

Prof. Dr. Hubert Weiger

Chairman of Friends of the Earth Germany (Bund für Umwelt- und Naturschutz Deutschland, BUND)

Secretary General of the Council

Prof. Dr. Günther Bachmann
General Secretary of the German Council for Sustainable Development
Vita (short version)


Sustainable Consumption

The Sustainable Shopping Basket - A guide to better shopping - Opens website www.nachhaltiger-warenkorb.de in new window

NEW: The Sustainable Shopping Basket now also available as an app
Download app for:
iPhone and iPod


December 2014

z  w

All events

German Sustainability Code

The Sustainability Code - Opens website www.sustainabilitycode.org in new window