Navigation and service

Go to:

Future peace and prosperity will no longer be within our reach, if we in Germany do not commit more resolutely to greater sustainability and channel all our energy into making it happen – be it in politics, business, science or civil society.

Marlehn Thieme, Chairwoman of the Council

Marlehn Thieme

The principle of sustainability is the only option for responsible global action; it protects our eco-systems and thus ensures the survival of generations to come.

Olaf Tschimpke, Deputy Chairman of the Council

Olaf Tschimpke

Measuring sustainability and identifying interrelationships are major success factors for anchoring this topic in companies and on capital markets.

Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen, Member of the Council

Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen

Avoiding past mistakes means pointing progress in the right direction: the principle of sustainable development is a good compass for technical and social innovations at local, national and global level.

Ulla Burchardt, Member of the Council

Ulla Burchardt

The global sustainability and climate protection goals are the long-term milestones. Now we have to engage in an honest discussion about what the state, private sector and citizens can and must do to achieve them.

Kathrin Menges, Member of the Council

Kathrin Menges

The energy revolution has greatly reduced the costs of green electricity, so it is competitive at international level and helps to achieve the global sustainability goals without additional CO2 emissions.

Alexander Müller, Member of the Council

Alexander Müller

The idea of sustainability is at the core of a viable, innovative economy and is vital for a society that aims to safeguard quality of life in the long term. That is why the three pillars of sustainability – economic, environmental and social – must be considered together.

Katherina Reiche, Member of the Council

Katherina Reiche

Make the sustainable choice the easy choice.

Prof. Dr. Lucia A. Reisch, Member of the Council

Prof. Dr. Lucia A. Reisch

Sustainable development requires to find as much common ground as possible but also to accept differences.

Dr. Werner Schnappauf, Member of the Council

Dr. Werner Schnappauf

Today, sustainable development requires an agenda which explicitly links global and national goals and policies and thus gives global cooperation a strong push forward.

Dr. Imme Scholz, Member of the Council

Dr. Imme Scholz

In forest science, we learned how important the sustainable management of natural resources is centuries ago. Empirical knowledge, openness to new things and humility in the face of nature can help other sectors, too.

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schraml, Member of the Council

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schraml

Cities, even more so than today, will become hubs of technological and social development in the future. All the more important are efforts to encourage the sustainable development of our cities.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Member of the Council

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) oblige all countries to adopt new ways of thinking and acting. They are the yardstick for the limitations and opportunities of globalization.

Achim Steiner, Member of the Council

Achim Steiner

We need to make bold political decisions that reward growth less and sustainability more and that encourage the common good instead of profit-seeking.

Prof. Dr. Hubert Weiger, Member of the Council

Prof. Dr. Hubert Weiger

The UN Sustainable Development Goals present the vision of a fundamental socio-ecological transformation. They are not a specialist task for development or environmental policy, but are binding for all cabinet members.

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul, Member of the Council

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul
MenübuttonMenübutton

Content

Open SDGclub.Berlin

With the Open SDGclub.Berlin, the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE) offers an inclusive and collaborative platform for mutual encouragement to all those who embrace the transformative character of the Agenda 2030. This initiative will be instrumental to transport the sense of belonging to the common cause of reaching the SDGs in their universal relevance. While Agenda 2030 requires to be implemented first and foremost on the national and subnational level those efforts can – and must – build on experiences and good practices. Sustainable development actions are astonishing and encouraging, but to a large extent they are yet untold. We choose the title to show a non-exclusive understanding and an openness for initiates to repeat and multiply Open SDGclubs.

Participants of the Open SDGclub. Photo: André Wagenzik/RNE

A first meeting took place in Berlin in November 2016 where lively debates generated many ideas for own and common follow-up actions on the ground. A second meeting is foreseen for 2018. Meanwhile, participants exchange information and knowledge about own actions and also cooperate to reinforce implementation of UN 2030 Agenda for sustainable development.

Logo: Open SDGclub.Berlin

The RNE has published a report on the first Open SDGclub.Berlin meeting in November 2016. This report summarizes the meeting, gives insight in the preparatory process leading to the meeting and presents follow-up actions and lessons learned. Take a look at the informative graphics and read the full report here (PDF, 1.3 MB).

Get a lively insight into the first Open SDGclub.Berlin meeting while watching this short video.

Take a look at the pictures taken at the first Open SDGclub.Berlin meeting.

Open SDGclub.Berlin on Twitter

Pfeil nach oben

Navigation und Service

Direkt zu:

Frieden und Wohlstand für morgen ist nicht mehr zu erreichen, wenn wir in Deutschland nicht entschiedener umsteuern und unsere ganze Kraft für mehr Nachhaltigkeit einsetzen – in Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.

Marlehn Thieme, Vorsitzende des Rates

Marlehn Thieme

Das Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit ist die einzige Option für verantwortliches globales Handeln, die unsere Ökosysteme schützt und damit das Überleben künftiger Generationen sichert.

Olaf Tschimpke, Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Rates

Olaf Tschimpke

Die Messung von Nachhaltigkeit und die Identifikation von Wirkungszusammenhängen sind wesentliche Erfolgsfaktoren, um das Thema in Unternehmen und auf Kapitalmärkten zu etablieren.

Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen, Mitglied des Rates

Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen

Die Fehler der Vergangenheit vermeiden heißt, dem Fortschritt eine Richtung geben: das Leitbild Nachhaltige Entwicklung taugt als Kompass für technische wie soziale Innovationen auf lokaler, nationaler und globaler Ebene.

Ulla Burchardt, Mitglied des Rates

Ulla Burchardt

Mit den globalen Nachhaltigkeits- und Klimaschutzzielen sind die langfristigen Meilensteine gesetzt. Jetzt müssen wir ehrlich diskutieren, was Staat, Wirtschaft und Bürger leisten können und müssen, um diese umzusetzen.

Kathrin Menges, Personalvorstand und Vorsitzende des Sustainability Council von Henkel

Kathrin Menges

Deutschland hat mit Milliarden-Investitionen grünen Strom günstig und damit global wettbewerbsfähig gemacht. Auf der zweiten Stufe der Energiewende müssen nun Wärme, Mobilität und Strom auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien gekoppelt werden.

Alexander Müller, Mitglied des Rates

Alexander Müller

Die Idee der Nachhaltigkeit ist zentral für eine zukunftsfähige, innovative Wirtschaft und unabdingbar für eine Gesellschaft, die Lebensqualität langfristig sichern will. Deshalb gilt es, die drei Säulen der Nachhaltigkeit – Ökonomie, Ökologie und Soziales – zusammen zu denken.

Katherina Reiche, Mitglied des Rates

Katherina Reiche

Die nachhaltige Wahl muss zur einfachen Wahl werden.

Prof. Dr. Lucia A. Reisch, Mitglied des Rates

Prof. Dr. Lucia A. Reisch

Nachhaltige Entwicklung erfordert größtmögliche Gemeinsamkeiten ebenso wie die Akzeptanz von Unterschieden.

Dr. Werner Schnappauf, Mitglied des Rates

Dr. Werner Schnappauf

Nachhaltige Entwicklung erfordert heute eine Agenda, die globale und nationale Ziele und Politiken explizit miteinander verschränkt und der globalen Kooperation einen deutlichen Schub gibt.

Dr. Imme Scholz, Mitglied des Rates

Dr. Imme Scholz

In der Forstwirtschaft haben wir vor Jahrhunderten gelernt, wie wichtig der nachhaltige Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen ist. Erfahrungswissen, Aufgeschlossenheit für Neues und Demut vor der Natur können auch anderen Branchen helfen.

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schraml, Mitglied des Rates

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schraml

Die Städte werden künftig noch stärker Zentren technischer und gesellschaftlicher Innovationen, aber auch von sozialen und ökologischen Herausforderungen sein. Umso wichtiger sind die Bemühungen um eine nachhaltige Entwicklung unserer Städte.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Mitglied des Rates

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

Die Nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen verpflichten alle Länder zu neuem Denken und Handeln. Grenzen und Möglichkeiten der Globalisierung bemessen sich an ihnen.

Achim Steiner, Mitglied des Rates

Achim Steiner

Wir brauchen mutige politische Entscheidungen, die weniger Wachstum und mehr Nachhaltigkeit belohnen, die Gemeinwohl statt Gewinnstreben fördern.

Prof. Dr. Hubert Weiger, Mitglied des Rates

Prof. Dr. Hubert Weiger

Die Nachhaltigkeitsentwicklungsziele der UN stellen die Vision einer grundlegenden sozial-ökologischen Transformation dar. Sie sind keine entwicklungspolitische oder umweltpolitische Fachaufgabe, sondern binden alle Kabinettsmitglieder.

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul, Mitglied des Rates

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul
MenübuttonMenübutton

Inhalt

Open SDGclub.Berlin

2015 haben die Vereinten Nationen die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung angenommen. Diese Agenda mit ihren globalen Zielsetzungen muss nun von allen Akteuren - Regierungen, Zivilgesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft – weltweit und vor Ort in allen Ländern umgesetzt werden. Der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung baut daher seine internationalen Kontakte aus und hat mit dem Open SDGclub.Berlin eine inklusive Austausch- und Lernplattform für nicht-staatliche Akteure geschaffen. Der Club-Charakter ist dabei nicht exklusiv gemeint sondern versteht sich als Verkörperung des Gedankens, dass die jeweiligen Akteure in ihren unterschiedlichsten Kontexten doch alle an der gemeinsamen Aufgabe arbeiten.

Ein erstes Treffen hat im November 2016 stattgefunden. Über 90 Teilnehmende aus über 30 Ländern tauschten drei Tage lang ihre Erfahrungen und Ideen zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 aus. Anwesend waren Vertreter nationaler Nachhaltigkeitsräte und ähnlicher Einrichtungen, zivilgesellschaftliche Netzwerke auf subnationaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene, Wirtschaftsvertreter und Vertreter wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen. Die Teilnehmenden haben sich für weitere Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit ausgesprochen. Ein Folgetreffen ist für 2018 geplant.

Wortmarke: Open SDGclub.Berlin

Meldungen zum Thema

Die Teilnehmer des Open SDGclub. Foto: André Wagenzik/RNE

Berlin, 02.12.2016 - Der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung hatte im November 2016 zur ersten Konferenz des Open SDGclub.Berlin eingeladen. Über 90 Teilnehmende aus über 30 Ländern tauschten drei Tage lang ihre Erfahrungen und Ideen zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 aus. Der hierüber entstandene Bericht ist ab sofort online abrufbar. Mehr lesen

Pfeil nach oben